Housing discrimination is illegal. Together the Federal Fair Housing Act and the Westchester County Fair Housing Law prohibit discrimination in rental, sale, and lending practices based on the seventeen (17) protected classes identified below. The Fair Housing Board accepts, investigates and adjudicates claims of housing discrimination.

Reportedly four million instances of housing discrimination occur each year but only a fraction are reported. If you believe you experienced housing discrimination, contact the Commission by phone at (914) 995-9500 or by email at . You can also review the complaint form -- Filing a Complaint (westchestergov.com)

Our office provides language assistance services free of charge and we do not share information regarding immigration status with law enforcement agencies.


The Westchester County Fair Housing Law prohibits discrimination in housing based on the following protected classes:

  • Race
  • Color
  • Ethnicity
  • National Origin
  • Alienage/Citizenship
  • Disability
  • Source of Income (including Housing Choice Vouchers, also known as Section 8)
  • Religion
  • Marital Status and Familial Status (including pregnancy or anyone securing custody of a child under the age of 18)
  • Military Status
  • Age
  • Gender
  • Gender Identity
  • Gender Expression
  • Sexual Orientation
  • Status as a Victim of Domestic Violence, Sexual Abuse, or Stalking


Anyone who has a nexus with housing is subject to the Fair Housing Law, including but not limited to:

  • Property owners, managers, and building staff
  • Real estate agents or brokers
  • Homeowners, condominium & cooperative associations & boards
  • Mortgage lenders & financial institutions
  • Advertising media


  • A property manager states a property is no longer available after learning a prospective buyer’s alienage or citizenship status.
  • A landlord refuses to consider a reasonable accommodation request by a person with a disability.
  • A loan officer does not approve lending credit for the purchase of a home because of the applicant’s race, color, or ethnicity.
  • A landlord places an advertisement expressing a limitation on Housing Choice Vouchers, also known as Section 8.
  • A building superintendent refuses to fix a tenant’s appliance because of their religion.
  • A property owner takes away a parking spot from a family after learning their marital status.
  • A real estate agent offers an apartment only if the applicant goes on a date with him.
  • A real estate broker steers a customer away from a particular neighborhood after learning their sexual orientation.
  • It is unlawful to retaliate against someone because they filed a complaint of housing discrimination with our office.

These examples are for general guidance purposes only and do not constitute legal advice. Each case is fact specific and it will depend on the circumstances.

You can find information about the obligations of cooperative housing corporations under the County's Fair Housing Law.